hearthstrung

The Treat Ritual: Dora and Doughnut Plant

August Sundays. The mornings start, midday hours into a slow thrum.

Huevos Ahogados: eggs poached in salsa verde. And I’m not the keenest on mexican food, but this one, this is a keeper.

runny yolks, fresh herbs, and avocado. what, my friend, is not to love.

We venture out, the humming brightness. Tschumi graces the view.

We are lower than low. Dora is on the list.

Surprising, tucked away, and a really incredible cup. Roasted hazelnuts, lettuce milk, black mustard, toasted oats, a bit of acorn. Aromatic, not too bitter nor too sour. balanced and aromatic, and interesting. And look at that gorgeous sheen.

Plus, they have animals.

A veritable ark.

Plus, they have books. Lots and lots of books. And lots of food books.

My favourites were: “Encyclopaedia of Herbs, Spices, and Flavourings”, “Creative Food Experiences for Children”, and for fun, “Fanny at Chez Panisse”. I was pretty content.

Plus, they serve cascara. That’s gotta be a first I think, even for new york city.

On to The Doughnut Plant, the fabled les mecca of inspiredly-flavoured fried dough goodness.

Doughnuts on doughnuts? Someone was thinking.

Four between two? Not gluttonous, no. Highly prudent.

Blueberry, Valrhona chocolate, carrot cake, and crème brûlée.

All noteworthy, but my favourite by far was the last.

Vanilla custard-filled doughnut with a carmelised sugar crust? You have got to be joking.

Clearly they practice some sort of divine association. Krishna, be my homeboy.

Lost in layers of doughnut.

*Sadly, it appears Dora is now closed.

This entry was published on Wednesday, June 6, 2012 at 10:37 pm. It’s filed under adventures, food, general, restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

11 thoughts on “The Treat Ritual: Dora and Doughnut Plant

  1. Ah, the creme brulee donut is so good that I bought two of them when I visited!

  2. I love your blog. Makes me sad to hear you are not keen on Mexican food, though most people haven’t known it at its best: yes, breakfast dishes like huevos ahogados, so many kinds of pumpkin and sesame seed sauces like pipian, fresh huitlacoche the beloved corn fungus to eat in freshly made blue corn tortillas, fermented corn drink with a scoop of fresh lemon sorbet (street food! it’s incredible)…and the endless varieties of fruit, so fragrant and amazing! I could go one for days. I also go to Yale, and I wouldn’t call 98% of the Mexican food I’ve had on the east even ‘ok’ 🙂

    • thank you! haha yes I suppose I should be more precise – I’m really not keen on the sloppy, heavy, unbalanced food labelled ‘mexican’ in most places on the east coast. Though my awakening to the amazing richness of regional Mexican cooking is still in its infancy. I really hope to learn more though. I had pescado zarandeado in nuevo vallarta last time I was down there (https://hearthstrung.wordpress.com/2011/12/31/pescado-zarandeado/), it was amazing and completely not in the sphere of knowledge surrounding ‘Mexican’ food in America and Canada.
      I love pumpkin and sesame seeds (and pretty much all seeds and nuts in general) so pipian sounds utterly delicious; I tried huitlacoche at the restaurant I worked at last summer, but never fresh… that must be revelatory. blue corn tortillas! fermented corn drink with fresh lemon sorbet?! those are things I need to put in my mouth.
      Are you from Mexico?

    • I should add, the huevos ahogados were made by a friend who’s really into mexican food (from LA, go figure) and they were magnificent

      • I’m also from Los Angeles, and my parents are Mexican, so I grew up close to the good stuff! I stopped being vegan after 3 years to eat the cheese my grandmother made by hand. !! So many good things, the stinky dry cheeses, quince and guava paste, tepache (fermented pineapple drink), I also just learned of a dish from Chiapas that is basically fresh, finely ground meat cured with lemon juice and eaten like ceviche. Too much good stuff to mention.

        Enjoying your Japan posts, by the way…glad you took notes!

  3. I love the voice here

  4. @aurora (didn’t let me reply further):
    if my grandmother made cheese by hand I would eat it too. wow that all sounds so good. do you keep a blog or anything? it sounds like you should with all the amazing food that few people here have even heard of, let alone tried. i’d read it.
    and thanks! i’m working through my backlog from a few things of this past year. hoping to finish up in the next week, before i move to denmark…lofty goals haha

Leave a Reply

