hearthstrung

Avocado Chocolate Truffles

There are many things to celebrate. It is the second day of 2012, the first day of hearthstrung’s second year, and (!) our 100th post.

Woah! That’s a lot of things!

I’m left with no choice but to finally bust out this amazing little gem inspired by the good folks over at golubka, one of the most beautiful food blogs I’ve come across, and raw to boot. I made these with my sister almost one year ago, and I’ve been saving the story for a special occasion. So, these three events, paired with having just come back from Mexico where I ate avocados every day, all tell me that now is the perfect time to share one of my favourite desserts.

It’s a simple yet brilliant idea: hollow out some avocados, make some chocolate mousse, fill the avocados with mousse, and coat with nuts and raw cacao nibs. It’s a little more challenging to actually do it (and make them look pretty – I struggled as you’ll see), but that’s the basic idea. They’re delightful, exceedingly healthy, and very elegant.

Chocolate Avocado Truffles
adapted from golubka
serves 4

6 ripe avocados
100 g / 3.5 oz good-quality dark chocolate, no less than 70% (cocoa powder works too, but I do prefer chocolate for the added lusciousness of the cocoa butter)
2 tbsp / 30 ml cold-pressed coconut oil
zest of one lime
cardamom
raw cacao nibs
shelled unsalted pistachios

for the mousse:
Melt the coconut oil in a pan on low heat (it just needs to be liquid, but should not heat up). Let it cool off the heat. Chop up the chocolate finely, and melt it in a separate pan (or double boiler if you’re really good).
Take four of the avocados. Halve them carefully and remove the pits. Scoop out some of the flesh from the inside, making sure there is a thick enough layer next to the skin so that the truffle will hold its shape (don’t go too much less than 1 cm). Scoop out all the flesh of the remaining two avocados.
Zest the lime. Combine all the avocado flesh, coconut oil, chocolate, lime zest, and a dash of cardamom in the food processor and blend until smooth. Taste and adjust as suitable.

preparation:
Fill each avocado half with mousse. Press corresponding halves back together, so that the cavities are completely full but not so full that mousse squishes out the sides. They should fit evenly and snugly. Chill the four whole avocados in the fridge for a few hours to let the mousse set.

Just before you’re ready to remove the avocados from the fridge, crush the cacao nibs and pistachios with a mortar and pestle (or tuck them inside a cloth and crush with a rolling pin) until desired fineness, and spread them in a layer on a plate. Once the mousse has set, remove the avocados from the fridge and carefully peel the skins off the flesh. Roll the whole avocados so that they are completely covered with the cacao nib-pistachio dust. Chill; remove from fridge before serving; serve slightly cooler than room temperature.

If you want to go all out, may I suggest melting down some more good dark chocolate and garnishing the slightly chilled truffles with warm melted chocolate.

Also, feel free to experiment with different ratios and flavourings in the mousse. I just love the chocolate-cardamom combination, and I find the lime helps the avocado stay a little fresher and brightens the richness of the flesh; but there are definitely other possible combinations.

These can be quite large for an individual serving of dessert, especially if the avocados are hefty. If so, you could serve one between two people; it could be a fun convivial ending to the meal to have people share, or you could bring them on a platter to the table and halve and serve them there.

It should also be mentioned that the mousse is delicious by itself, and is ridiculously easy to make. It can be made ahead, and keeps well, so it’s a great idea for a dinner party. I’ve made it a bunch of times and it never fails to please.

When I made these last winter, it was for a dinner party, and we had one left over. The next day I may have eaten some of it as an afternoon snack. But I ate it with red cabbage and hemp hearts, so it was a healthy snack.

Yes, it was.

This entry was published on Monday, January 2, 2012 at 10:00 am. It’s filed under food, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

17 thoughts on “Avocado Chocolate Truffles

  1. Wow! This leaves me speechless! What a gorgeous combination of flavours, and what utterly lovely photographs! Beautiful.

  2. To start with, those truffles are MASSIVE. I like. Great photography too. But the recipe is the most intriguing thing – how unique and utterly delectable.

  3. haha I know. When I served them only 2 out of 7 finished them (may have been my sister and I, as we are unabashed gluttons when it comes to that sort of thing).

    You should give it a try! And let me know how it goes. It’s totally the sort of thing that can be tweaked and each version is a little different in interesting ways.

  4. These are beautiful! I’m planning to link to this recipe on my EatingPlaces ‘Saturday Short List’ tomorrow – do you mind if I use a picture as well? I’ll credit it to you and it will be next to the link.

    Thanks!
    Liz

  5. Pingback: Saturday Short List: Jan 21 | EatingPlaces

  6. Pingback: a night tartine « hearthstrung

  7. This recipe sounds amazing! The only problem I ran into is that I can’t find any coconut oil. Can I sub in any other kind of oil? I found a walnut oil, do you think that would work?

    • you should totally make it! the thing about the coconut oil specifically is that it stays solid at room temperature – if you want your mousse to be moussey (and not runny) and your truffles to stay together when you serve them, I don’t know how well walnut oil would work. If they don’t sell coconut oil at the supermarket you usually go to, try a healthfood store, they’ll probably have it. If you do try it with another oil, let me know how it goes! I’m sure it would still be delicious, and definitely a worthwhile experiment.

      • So the experiment worked! I only put less than a tablespoon of the walnut oil in just to make it more silky and popped them in the fridge. They really are delicious, great recipe!

  8. @alex: awesommme! that is so great to hear. i’ll have to try it too!!

  9. Pingback: the fruits of fol epi « hearthstrung

  10. Pingback: almond butter marathon « hearthstrung

  11. Pingback: Polkadots & ponderings #3 | Let's get living

  12. This looks so tasty! I made something really similar the other night, but can’t wait to try this recipe. Thanks for the post!

  13. Pingback: Dump It or Dunk It?: Chocolate and Avocado | Agatha Chocolats

Leave a Reply

