hearthstrung

The Treat Ritual: Pies ‘n’ Thighs and Beaner Bar

Last Friday I had a much-needed me day.  I worked remotely from home in the morning, working on a grant application for Edible Schoolyard NYC, and used the afternoon to do laundry, read, and eat my way around Williamsburg.

First stop: the notorious neighbourhood haunt Pies ‘n’ Thighs.

Cute.  I love the rough benches that double as planters.  This place is just down the street from me, at S 4th and Driggs, and almost every time I ride by it’s packed inside and out.  This picture is not representative.  It is the hang-out.

I had come here a few weeks earlier, late at night after a concert in Prospect Park.  I had ridden back and was pretty hungry, and their beer-battered zucchini with honey and herbs sounded just about right.  It was late-night food of the highest gustatory order – crispy, slightly bitter from the beer, and sweet and savoury from the honey and herbs.

What I really had my eye on, though, was their Hippie Banjo – a vegetarian version of the Banjo, their egg+cheese on a biscuit.  They only serve it for breakfast (i.e. until 4pm), so I knew I had to go during the day.  But for a fried egg, cheddar, avocado, tomato, sprouts, and mayo on homemade Anadama bread, I was pretty sure I could make that happen.

Can I just say something?  This sandwich totally lived up to expectations.

It was just… so good.  The bread is really where it all began – such a rich, deep flavour, kissed by molasses, a delightful dense crumb, and the perfect heft for grilling.  Gosh.  And the egg: highly peppered, substantial but not rubbery, with an oozy yolk.  Top that with generous slices of avocado (often hard to come by, as C will have you know), tomato, and sprouts, and you’ve got yourself one heck of a lunch.

Goodness gracious.  Have you no modesty.

Next, off to Beaner Bar, on Graham between Frost and Richardson.  It is, as their website advertises, “Brooklyn’s first Euro-Style Mexican Coffee Bar!”  Finally!

But really, this is a place to check out, if only for its playful bizarrity, colourful skull tiles, and general Día de Los Muertos-themed decor.

Luckily, they also pull a mean espresso.  It smelled like cacao and loam.  It tasted like fennel bulb with something black curranty, followed by coriander.  Long and astringent at the end, with Riesling, and something else that I couldn’t quite place.  It was good and difficult and it changed over time.  The barista was also really friendly.

They have some good-sounding specialty drinks too, like a ‘Trago Azteca’ – espresso with hand-ground dark chocolate.  Sounds like something to come back for.

After a nice little coffee break and a brief read, I headed over to Beacon’s Closet for a peek at the racks.  I had some great finds, including this colourful broad-weave shirt that just resounds summer.  I’ve been wearing it often.

I get in this meditative state when I bike around, especially with myself and nowhere or when in particular to be.  It’s conducive to not thinking, and also being startled by the immediacy of things.

It was pouring as I headed home, a huge summer deluge.  It felt good.

This entry was published on Monday, August 8, 2011 at 7:23 pm. It’s filed under adventures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

